Validation and the Art of Engaging Others

I came across this video and enjoyed it a great deal.  “Validation” is a fable about the magic of free parking. The film stars T.J. Thyne and Vicki Davis.  The writer/director/composer is Kurt Kuenne.  The fill is the winner for Best Narrative Short, Cleveland Int’l Film Festival and was shown at the Tribeca Film Festival.

Think about the relationship the film has to organizational life and employee engagement as a whole.  Take a moment to laugh and learn.  And then tell us what you think.

6 thoughts on “Validation and the Art of Engaging Others

  1. This is so wonderful I’ll send it to everyone I know.
    People who see life in this way should take the LEAD in society. I seek to empower people like you — I admire and applaud you from afar.

    Thanks,
    Eleni.

  2. This is one of the most powerful shorts I have ever seen. The direction, performances, music and videography are great. But the best is the message. Bring a little happiness
    into anyone’s life and their outlook in life can improve and with that their life.

    Anyone who doubts the power of this message should Google “Laughter is the best medicine.”

    Lead on, oh wizards of entertainment and bring your message with you.

  3. I loved, loved, loved this video. It has so many wonderful applications to work engagement, the power of a positive attitude, how to create a positive work environment, how to bring out the best in a person, how to truly connect, etc, etc. It also shows the negative power of non-validation on employee morale, performance, productivity, self-esteem, etc, etc, which so often occurs in many organization and corporate work cultures. I would love to use in and share it in my next training class.
    As I am not a true technofile, can you advise as to how I can save a copy to present in my class as part of a powerpoint presentation.
    Also , has the creator, editors, etc, done any more films? I want to follow them as their work, namely this video, in one fell swoop captured a message that resonated so well with me and the many that are fortunate to view this video!
    Please advise asap. I would greatly appreciate a response.

    • Joyce,

      I am glad you enjoyed the video. In order to save a copy you would need software. There are a number of video capture softwares on the market. Or you could just make sure you have internet access available and save the link. i put the creators of the video in the blog. If you pull the name of the individual up on IMDB you should get a list of his credits.

      Brad

Leave a Reply

