Employee Engagement Kiss of Death – Ignoring Performance Issues

Subodinating the Moment for the Greater Goal
Since my kids don’t read my blog, I have to admit that there are times when I pretend not to see rule violations in my home, because I don’t have the energy to deal with them.  However, if it is obvious that I have witnessed an infraction, I like to believe I’m on it.  What is the alternative – a slippery slope to anarchy.

Managerial Leadership Requires Courage
I’ve said 100 times that trust and fairness are precursors to employee engagement.  If managers turn their backs on issues, EVERYTHING breaks down.

What managers are saying by this abdication of their performance management leadership duty is:

-The rules apply only some times.
-The rules apply to only some people.

Try gaining accountability in an arbitrary environment like that.

Try gaining consistency in an arbitrary environment like that.

Try gaining quality in an arbitrary environment like that.

Try gaining engagement in an arbitrary enviroment like that.

Ever worked in an enviroment like that?

I’m OK.  You’re OK.  Let’s fix the system.

Original post at:

Employee Engagement Kiss of Death – Ignoring Performance Issues

Posted using ShareThis

Leave a Reply

