Job Hunting in the 21st Century

Guest Blogger

The current economy has put me in a position that I have not been in for a long time – looking for a job. Given that my last job search was more than a half dozen years ago, I started with what I knew. I pulled out my résumé and cover letter, updated them, and started looking for jobs in all the places I had looked before. I read the newspapers, the national job boards that have been around for years, and the job board through the state Workforce Development office. I sent out résumés and filled out online application forms. I was responding to jobs that I was qualified for and I have a strong background, so I thought the calls would start coming in quickly.

There have been some responses, but not as many as I had expected. I’ve even had a couple interview processes that have gone pretty far, but for one reason or another, no offers.

As the days and weeks passed with no real change in the results I was getting, it became clear that something would have to change with how I did my job search. I kept reading about how networking is the biggest reason people give for how they found their current job, so I called and emailed past contacts to let them know that I was in the market again. They all wished me well, but no, their companies were not hiring. Now what?

I was talking with my wife about my frustrations, and she said, “Why don’t you start a blog about your job search?” A blog? You know, why not? With that, The Job Quest (http://rodneysjobquest.wordpress.com) was created.

There are different sites that let you host your blog for free, and I didn’t know which one to pick, so I just went for WordPress. I’m glad I did. It’s got a lot of neat toys for a free site and it has been pretty easy to learn. I also like having separate pages for a short bio and my résumé.

Since I haven’t had it up for very long, I am not sure what will happen. I’m not even sure how it all will develop. I just post about topics related to my job search, sometimes talking about what seems to be working for me, other times asking questions. And when I find other blogs or resources that are helpful in one way or another, I put them on my blog. Who knows, maybe someone else looking for a job will find them helpful. We are all in this together, right? May as well help out someone else who needs it.

Do I know what I am doing with this blog? Absolutely not. I am learning about this as I go and hoping that as word of The Job Quest spreads that it will be discovered by an HR professional or company executive who is looking for someone with my background.

15 thoughts on “Job Hunting in the 21st Century

  1. Pingback: Guest Posting « The Job Quest

  2. Pingback: Job Hunting in the 21st Century « The Engagement Factor Blog - Himanchals Org.

  3. Blogging is critical now a days to find a job. This is the reason we started hired on the spot.com

    The site allows you to post your resume like every other job site, but you also have your own blog and can post a video resume. The same old is not adequate anymore and people must find anyway to get noticed. That is what we are all about, getting you noticed! Our service is free.

    Most importantly there are jobs available on our site too.

    We just started about four weeks ago and our site has been growing significantly. Come over to http://www.hiredonthespot.com and come join the resume revolution!

  4. One other thing that I should have included in my post is that I am getting a lot of positive feedback from people who have seen my blog, including some contacts in HR. It’s encouraging to know that people are responding to it.

  5. Rodney,

    I thought your ability to adjust will definitely land you a job soon. One question for you. We just got the distribution for a software tool that we think could generate revenue for small and medium business owners (they are hurting too). what do you recommend to get the word out quickly to folks that would like to make some money and get in the distribution business? I would appreciate any advice.

    Thanks, Al (786-371-4884)

    • Thank you for the vote of confidence. I don’t have any advice for you, however, since that is not my background. Best of luck to you.

      Rodney

  6. This was posted in replay to this blog on a LinkedIn group. I felt it so important and relevant that I thought I would copy it over to the actual blog post.

    Read the job hunting guide by Rick Gillis. He has some unique ideas that differ from the conventional wisdom of the so called search experts. I used his methods and received multiple interviews within 3 weeks after. I am a 62 financial professional who never thought I would even receive an interview at my age. Read the book. It is available on amazon and barnes and nobles web site.
    Posted by Thomas Martin

  7. Hi Rodney –

    Like you, I have started writing about the job search process. I left my VP of HR job at the end of December and formed a job search group for my church in February. I started writing job search tips articles to the group and distributing them via at first. In April I set up a blog The Job Seeker’s Insider – http://thejobseekerinsider.blogspot.com/ and have been posting there ever since. The stories and ideas for them seem to come easy to me for some reason or another.

    Last month I developed and delivered a two day job search workshop and I have been getting invited to speak on job search techniques. As an HR professional, it has been an enriching way to give back to others that are out looking.

    Thanks for sharing and keep it up.

    • Hello Mike,

      Thank you for your comments. That’s good that you are getting requests to speak.

      I will have to check out your blog to see how I can improve what I am doing on my job search. If you have any advice for me, I’d be glad to have it. Everything helps.

      Rodney

  8. Thanks for this site! Found this article on LinkedIn. Have had 3-4 friends laid off in the last month. I have clients I set up WP websites for searching for more customers. It’s crazy out there! I want to help people out as much as possible!

    Will definitely check out this site in more detail!

    Jenn
    http://webhead20.com

    • Hello Jenn,

      I’m sorry to hear that you have some friends in the same situation. I hope that what I put on the blog is helpful. If they have comments, questions, or suggestions for what to put on it, I would welcome it.

      Good luck to them,

      Rodney

  9. I think this is a fabulous idea and I’m confident it will work for you in the long run. This is what I called being active in your job search and also it’s great information to share with people going through similar experiences. Its important to have support and encouragement from others who are also experiencing hopelessness with this job market.

    • I’m glad that you like the idea and hope that you are right about it working. It’s good to know that it is helping others, too. If you have comments on anything on the blog or suggestions for topics, I would be happy to hear them.

      Rodney

  10. Pingback: Are Illusions THAT Important? « The Job Quest

Leave a Reply

