Starbucks Anyone?

We were at a strip mall and were on our way to meet my wife when my son asked “Dad, can I get a hot chocolate?” 

I asked him where he wanted to go because there was not a place in sight.  He told me Starbucks.  Now I was impressed because he was 3 years old at the time and Starbucks was at this shopping area, but not anywhere he could see. 

I explained that we were here just to pick something up quickly and then head home.  I let him know that his mom was waiting for us.  He politely acknowledged what I had said and then told me he understood.

For about a minute he was quiet and then he spoke. 

“Dad” he said and then paused. 

“Yes.”  I responded.

“You look like you could use a cup of coffee.”  He said. 

I laughed.  I laughed hard until my stomach hurt.  What a clever child.  He knew that I was not going to go to Starbucks to get a hot chocolate.  But he knew that I enjoyed coffee and so he focused on me.  He stopped thinking about what he wanted and started thinking about what I wanted.  And he made the sale!

Whether it is a client relationship, a co-worker, your boss, your neighbor, or even your arch enemy take a moment to think about the world from their perspective.  Maybe there is more common ground then you think.  Sit on your agenda for a moment and be curious. Who knows maybe you will make more money, develop a stronger team, grow a challenged employee, create an innovative breakthrough, or solve a global issue.  Or maybe you may become a better friend.  What do you have to lose?  Regardless, if you want something from someone else; you must change yourself first.  It is all about them first.  And that path will lead to you.  I know it is not linear, but it works. 

Get out of your own way and see what happens.  This is the lesson that my son’s story reminds me of everyday.

3 thoughts on “Starbucks Anyone?

  1. What an excellent sales story! I forget how simple childhood is with so many less distractions to what is really important in life. Hot Chocolate! What a clever son you have by the way, at 3 years old to see his way to the exact right “sales” model. Either that or his gene pool didn’t stray very far, did it? My only question is, did he ever get the hot chocolate?

    Michael D Goodman
    Twitter GoodmanSales

  2. Wonderful story. Fascinating how when you focus on the other person the chances of good things happening increases. How does Zig say it… You can have everything in life you want if you will just help enough other people get what they want.

Leave a Reply

